What a year!

What a year 2016 has been!

I flipped through my diary, then penned my last post for the year. My first diary entry in 2016 mentioned a goal that I had, which was to promote local literary works in someways or another. I guess that goal got forgotten along the months, and it came back to mind in December.

It’s all a circle; the cycle of things, of life. Cue Waterland.

I wrote in my diary – “Maybe 2017 is the year to take action.”

Over the past twelve months, I have been very fortunate in being able to pursue my interest in writing and literary arts, whether in school or outside of it. The almost month-long trip to London opened my eyes to a wider literary world, and allowed me to appreciate the written word more each day. Even though technology has inevitably taken over our lives, I saw lives being touched with each book read, and each word shared.

Every so often, I imagine myself in London again. It is unfortunate that the literary scene is not as recognized, but greater efforts to promote local writers and works is worth cheering. I wish to do more, and be part of that change in the days to come.

Like I always tell my friends, I am very happy with what I am studying in school, and even more grateful that the people around me are very supportive of me pursing the non-Science, non-Engineering route.

As I read my diary, I read events that had been forgotten and felt emotions that were hidden in the little nooks and crannies of my heart. Some were cringe-worthy, some were thought-provoking, others were rants of an unhappy me.

How is it that one bad thing is enough to eliminate and forget about the many good things that have happened?  It always makes me wonder.

It has been a wonderful 2016 for me, and I would like to say it’s been my best year yet. But I hope to do more in the next 365 days, to become a greater me, a better me.

Tomorrow, we wake up just like before. The sun still rises, but the calendar resets and starts again. But it is merely tomorrow.

Wherever you are, I hope you had a great 2016 and may good things come your way.

Happy new year!

x

Leave a Reply

