Shit happens, so that shift can happen.

Into the sixth day of 2016, and it feels as though 2015 never left. 2016 came a little too fast, too furious.

Still in the midst of reminiscing, reviewing and reflecting on the events of 2015 and I haven’t had much time to rest on my laurels before 2016 hit me in the face. It seems like nothing has changed, but yet, I feel the effects of the many changes that took place in 2015.

I would say that 2015 has been a year full of firsts. I got a job for the first time, started my undergraduate studies, spent much more time volunteering for causes and events I felt strongly for, got my driving license, went to watch a WTA Final, caught Liverpool and Man U Legends in action… So much action packed into 12 months it felt like time just flew by!

While I thoroughly enjoyed myself, there were moments where shit happened. I felt lost, helpless and those were situations I would regret stabbing myself in the foot. If I could turn back time, I would never have done that, ever again.

But then again, I believe that these setbacks moulded me slightly, and I can feel these little changes in the way I think, the words I speak and the actions I make. When times got tough and it seemed like all the possible odds in the world were against me, I cried and teared against my trusty pillow, only to wake up the next morning telling myself, life goes on. 

When in a dilemma, I like to constantly remind myself that there are people out there who are worse-off than me and I shouldn’t be complaining or be discontent with whatever predicament I am in. Every meal, the voice inside in my head whispers that there are people out there who don’t even have food and I trudge on to finish the meal. When I wake up in the morning and open my eyes, it is a reminder that I have survived yet another day while there are people out there fighting for their lives, pleading to live another 24 hours. Being content is easy to say, but really, much harder to do.

Shit happens, so that shift can happen.

The next time something nasty happens, I’ll still be cursing and I’ll swell up feeling indignant. But once the stage of self-pity passes, I’ll take it as a valuable lesson learnt. And remind myself yet again, that everything is going to be ok in the end. If it’s not ok, it’s not the end.

One day, I’ll get to the end.

Leave a Reply

