Time to relax!

Personally I believe that having time for yourself to pursue things you enjoy and living in the moment is very important. I always make it a point to dedicate some time every week to do something all by myself, whether it’s sitting down to read a book in a quiet corner in the library or going for a long walk around the neighbourhood. I also like to find time to have some alone time after stressful events like exams and competitions etc.

Yesterday I had my last paper and finally I managed to make a trip down to the museum with some of my friends to have a look at some exhibits I’ve been wanting to go for the longest time! I don’t know about most people but I enjoy visiting museums because they’re very therapeutic and relaxing. For that period in the museum my mind is only focused on the exhibits there, which allows me to escape from reality for a little while.

Long strolls at quiet places are also calming for the soul because it’s a rare opportunity to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city life. Nichole and I made a trip down to the the new Sports Hub in search for the new library there but after touring around the area for some time we hadn’t been able to find it! Instead we found a beach volleyball pit! Right in the middle of the city! it wasn’t an exceptionally large area but big enough to accommodate 2 games at a go.

Beside the pit there was a long boardwalk facing the river and skyline of Singapore and we decided to sit there and watch the world go by. And so there we were, sitting by the river, chatting and throwing our worries away momentarily. I’m glad and really thankful to have had the opportunity to enjoy some quiet time with Nichole! It was a wonderful end to a month of hours spent pouring over formulas and thousands of readings.

This morning I had the luxury of sleeping in and then sitting down to enjoy a book I’ve been wanting to finish for a long time. Plus I did some baking in the afternoon! Milo cookies! Haven’t tried baking this flavour of cookies before so I was thankful they turned out just fine. I’ll share the recipe the next time! Or you could just google it I’m sure there are similar recipes out there.

I know of many who are afraid to be alone, but being alone doesn’t mean you’re lonely! There are many things to do when alone, and they’re absolutely essential to get away from people and whatever is troubling you.

Try something new or do something you like today! (On your own, of course.) You never know what good it’ll bring!

“The best thing about being alone is that you really don’t have to answer to anybody. You do what you want.” -Justin Timberlake

Leave a Reply

